Only If—

is a New York City-based design practice for architecture and urbanism.



google maps logo 25px Only If Architecture, PLLC

1270 Fulton St. 3F, Brooklyn, NY 11216
+1 212 216 0999

facebook logo 25px Follow on Facebook
instagram logo 25px Follow on Instagram
linkedin logo 25px Follow on LinkedIn
architizer logo 25px Follow on Architizer

mail logo 25px
mail logo 25px

Job Applications

Apply to work at Only If through our online portal.
Please do not submit job applications through email.



Only If is a New York City-based design practice for architecture and urbanism founded in 2013 and led by Adam Snow Frampton, AIA and Karolina Czeczek, RA. Only If’s projects span a range of different types and scales, from commercial interiors and cafes, to a single-family townhouse in Brooklyn, to an 84-unit senior affordable residential project in Brooklyn, to larger-scale urban planning, research, and speculation.

Approaching any project, Only If seeks to focus on the fundamental questions and potentials. The ambition of this process is to create clarity and distill simplicity within often-complex circumstances and constraints. Rather than imposing additional regimes of complexity, we believe the role of the designer is to envision simple gestures and forms that impose structure, coherence, and identity. We believe in the potential of simple shapes and geometries—like circles and squares—framing and shaping underlying uncertainties and complexities.

Only If’s projects have been featured in the New Yorker, the Wall Street Journal, Architectural Digest, Interior Design, Frame, Azure, and the Architect’s Newspaper. In 2020, Only If was named as one of the 50 best emerging architecture firms in the world by Domus. In 2018 and 2019, Only If was included in the Architect’s Newspaper AN 50, “which recognizes the fifty most innovative and influential architects and designers working in interiors today.” Only If has been also recognized as Architect Magazine’s Next Progressives (2019), a winner of the 2018 AIANY New Practices New York, PIN-UP’s Magazine’s New Power Generation (2017), and the World Interior News’ 2016 Emerging Interior Practice of the Year.

Awards and Recognitions

2020 Domus Magazine, 50 Best Architecture Firms

2019 Architect Magazine, Next Progressives

2019 Architect’s Newspaper AN Interior 50

2018 Architect’s Newspaper Best of Design Awards, Brooklyn Senior Affordable Housing, Winner, Unbuilt Residential

2018 Architect’s Newspaper Best of Design Awards, Triboro Corridor, Winner, Urban Design

2018 Architect’s Newspaper Best of Design Awards, City of Saints, Honorable Mention, Retail / Hospitality

2018 AIANY + ASLANY Transportation & Infrastructure Design Excellence, Triboro Corridor, Merit Award

2018 ICFF / Interior Design NYCxDESIGN Awards, Brooklyn Senior Affordable Housing, Honoree

2018 AIANY New Practices New York, Winner

2018 Architect’s Newspaper AN Interior 50

2016 Architect’s Newspaper Best of Design Awards, Voyager Espresso, Honorable Mention, Retail / Hospitality

2016 World Interior News, Emerging Interior Practice of the Year

2016 PIN-UP New Power Generation

2016 Azure Magazine AZ Awards, Voyager Espresso, Award of Merit, Commercial Interiors


Adam Snow Frampton
 is an architect and the Principal of Only If. He is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Columbia Graduate School of Architecture Planning and Preservation. He previously worked as an Associate at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) in Rotterdam and Hong Kong from 2006-2013. During almost seven years there, he was involved in over 20 projects, responsible for leading teams producing architectural and urban designs in China, Taiwan, Saudi Arabia, the U.A.E., Bahrain, and India. Most significantly, he worked on OMA’s competition-winning design of the Taipei Performing Arts Center from 2008-2013 and led several phases of its design and construction. His independent research on Hong Kong urbanism has been published as the co-authored Cities Without Ground, which maps the city’s three-dimensional networks of pedestrian circulation and public space. His work has been exhibited in the 16th, 14th, and 12th Venice Biennale, the Museum of Modern Art, Storefront for Art and Architecture, the Center for Architecture, and the Van Alen Institute, New York. He holds a Masters in Architecture from Princeton University School of Architecture and a Bachelors of Environmental Design Summa cum Laude from the University of Colorado Boulder. He is a registered architect in the Netherlands and the United States, and a member of the American Institute of Architects.

Karolina Czeczek
is an architect who has been practicing at Only If since 2015. Karolina is also a Visiting Professor at College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) at University of Cincinnati. She previously worked at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) in Rotterdam and Hong Kong from 2010-2013, where she was involved in architectural and urban projects in the Netherlands, Australia, China, Morocco, and Egypt. Her independent research on Warsaw’s public pools, was selected as finalist for 2015 Praktyka scholarship program for young architects. Karolina holds two Masters degrees in architecture and urban design, from Yale University and the Cracow University of Technology. She is a Fulbright Scholar and recipient of Wirt Winchester Travel Fellowship from Yale School of Architecture. Karolina is a registered architect in the Netherlands.

Past & Current Team

Ryan Peeters
Jon Siani
Joseph Kennedy
Aurelia Adam
Matthew Davis
James Schrader
Antariksh Tandon
Francesca Pagliaro
Midori Hasuike
Yue Zhang
Min Keun Park
Jedy Lau
Joey Liang
Aleeya Khan
Pierre de Brun
Kutay Biberoglu
Angelina Andriani Putri
Kig Veerasunthorn
Stephanie Hamilton
Joseph Parrella
Hector Song
Cynthia Wang
Wo Wu
Florencia Yalale
Mark-Henry Decrausaz

You’ll receive several emails per year so you can stay in touch without being overloaded.

Email Address

First Name

Last Name

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!